Spinach Dip

I love spinach dip but I didn’t used to.  I didn’t used to like spinach and spinach dip sometimes even has artichokes in it, to this day that I don’t like them.  But since I have gotten to accept spinach I can now enjoy spinach dips.  I usually get it from California Pizza Kitchen but today we tried to make it room scratch.

Robert Irvine from Food Network always talks about how important it is to taste your food as you make it.  That’s exactly what I did because I used a little bit too much spinach.  I didn’t have the tabasco sauce I needed.  But I decided that I’d keep tasting it and figure out if I needed to do a tabasco run.

I keep hoping that one day I can do some reading while I cook.  But for the most part I hover when I cook.  I want to make sure nothing is burning or going wrong in some way.  Hopefully when I’m more confident in my cooking abilities it will happen.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Spinach Dip

Ingredients
2 tsp olive oil, 3 tsp Olive Oil
1 medium onion, diced
2 (or 3 depending on the size) garlic cloves, minced
1.5 pounds spinach, cleaned, trimmed, and coarsely chopped (I used Green Giant frozen Chopped Spinach)
1/2 cup 2% milk
6 ounces reduced-fat bar cream cheese
1 tsp Worcestershire sauce
2 tsp hot sauce, such as Tabasco
3/4 1cup shredded mozzarella
Salt and pepper to taste

Directions
In a large pan, heat oil over medium. Add onion and garlic; cook until lightly browned.

Add spinach and cook until completely wilted. Transfer to a colander; drain, pressing to release all excess liquid.

In the same pot, warm milk over high heat. Whisk in cream cheese until melted, about 3 minutes. Add spinach, Worcestershire sauce, and 3/4 cup mozzarella; stir to combine. Season with salt and pepper. Simmer over medium low heat until ready to serve. Transfer to serving dish and add pita wedges for dipping.

About akindafoodblog

I'm a picky foodie in training. I can't stop talking about food, so writing about it seems like a normal transition. There are so many foods I don't like, and that's a bit of a problem. I don't really know how to cook but I love to bake. So I'm on a culinary journey and I want to invite everyone to join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

