Knives

I didn’t watch this week but I did watch last season’s Worst Chefs In America, and the chefs stressed that you have to have good knife skills.  I think the way that you have good knife skills is to also have good knives.  I have those two matching knives, 4 komachi knives, and a Martha Stewart knife.

The two matching knives are pretty quality seeing as I paid $9 for the set of them.  The green is a paring knife and the red is serrated.  I’ve been using the red as an all-purpose knife, which is not what it is.

The Martha Stewart knife, I was disappointed to see that it did not come with a sheath.  Given its size and sharpness, you would think that Martha would provide a sheath but no.    So I invested in a pretty knife roll to make sure that I don’t end up cutting myself, especially with the new knives I just bought.

The Komachi knives, I admit I am in love with them because of the pretty colors.  But there is a method to the madness!  The colors represent different uses.  Like the orange one is for bread and the blue one is for fish.  Why?  So you don’t contaminate your food!  You can’t use the same knife you used for the chicken on the lettuce.  By having multiple knives, with different shapes and different colors to set them apart it helps to make sure that you don’t mix up the knives like that.  They are extremely light weight.  It’s made of stainless steal and they are extremely sharp, more so than you would think of a knife.  Basically, it’s made cutting tougher things so much easier than usual.  With Amazon offering a 4 for 3 deal I said “why not” and thought to buy them.  Overall, or at least as of now, I’m content.  I like them a lot.  But after I cook the Corn chowder tomorrow, I’ll get back to you.

Knife Collection

About akindafoodblog

I'm a picky foodie in training. I can't stop talking about food, so writing about it seems like a normal transition. There are so many foods I don't like, and that's a bit of a problem. I don't really know how to cook but I love to bake. So I'm on a culinary journey and I want to invite everyone to join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

