Overeating

Yesterday was my dad’s annual new year party.  There was so much food.  I ate then got full, but because there was so much good food just lying around I wanted to eat again.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I like to think that because I’m home it’s all right and it was a party.  I think that’s one of the first steps of the downfalls to losing weight which is a common New Year’s resolution.  And look at that food!  It’s gorgeous!  Delicious.  I even ate the California roll and the unknown maki even though I don’t like the orange fish eggs on the and the avocado on the inside California roll.  And the maki was a bit indistinguishable, but I hoped it was ahi (tuna/maguro).  That one was delicious even though it had a small bit of cucumber in it.

While a lot of the food was catered.  A lot of it was also homemade by my Hilo relatives.  They are outdoing themselves every year.  They made fresh poi in Hilo.  Poi is mashed taro (a root plant that is found in a water patch).  When taro is eaten raw it has fibers that can cause irritation in the throat.  They cooked pork multiple ways, created a sort of salad; they made a lot of food.

To lose weight one must burn off more calories than one intakes.  To do this it requires less eating and more exercise.  But in addition to eating less, you have to make sure that you eat more healthy foods.  Leafy green vegetables are always a plus.  Less butter, saturated fats, greasy foods, and anything high in sugar.

About akindafoodblog

I'm a picky foodie in training. I can't stop talking about food, so writing about it seems like a normal transition. There are so many foods I don't like, and that's a bit of a problem. I don't really know how to cook but I love to bake. So I'm on a culinary journey and I want to invite everyone to join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

