As the New Year Approaches

I know it’s close to a new year because people are out in their garages wielding giant mallets hitting stone basins full of sticky rice that is pounded into mochi.  Mochi is a Japanese rice cake made of glutinous rice pounded into paste and molded into shape.  In this case it’s just a round ball.  Sometimes mochi has flavoring or encases flavoring like Azuki bean.  But the one I dread is the flavorless sort that sits on the bottom of a bowl of warm soup.  This soup is called Ozoni.  It’s pretty flavorless in my opinion.  It’s a clear broth with vegetables like carrots and celery floating around.  And at the very bottom that’s where you’ll find the mochi.  It’s extremely sticky due to the fact that you want your family to stick together like the mochi.

Ozoni

My grandma puts some green vegetables I don’t really understand what they are.  The pink kamaboko is my favorite part.  It’s sweet and has a smooth texture.  The mochi is so chewy and sticky that I try really hard to eat it all in one bite.  It was too big this time so I took one bite and chewed like hell.  Swallowed and did it again in another bite.  Then for the most part it was over.  My sister and I both dread New Years just for this reason.

I hope everyone had a great new year.

Happy New Year!!!

About akindafoodblog

I'm a picky foodie in training. I can't stop talking about food, so writing about it seems like a normal transition. There are so many foods I don't like, and that's a bit of a problem. I don't really know how to cook but I love to bake. So I'm on a culinary journey and I want to invite everyone to join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

