Red Velvet!

I made dessert for tonight.  I made cheesecake that is still setting and pictures will be up later.  But I just finished making my New Years red velvet cake.  I was inspired by the Chinese red envelopes Lai See.  Usually you put money in it.  The red symbolizes good luck and wards off evil spirits.  So it’s red in the middle with yellow on top.  I realize it’s not Chinese new year.  But a New Year is a New Year right?  Basically it’s just a pretty cake because I haven’t actually tasted it yet.  I’m really excited to but there’s definitely too much frosting.  But I’m sure it’ll be fine.

I also did the fatal mistake of putting the frosting too early so the cake.  So the frosting melted off.  I put the frosting and the cake into the fridge and it hardened up.  I cleaned the area around the cake so that it would stick nicely.  Then I filled a piping bag with yellow frosting and did the flowers.  I filled another piping bag also with yellow frosting and did the swirls and the writing.  I tried to use the thicker piping tip at first and when it didn’t work out as well as I wished I took it off.  I put the white frosting to cover it.  Then I tried again with the small tip and it came out nicely.

Red Velvet

Isn't it gorgeous?

Red Velvet

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup shortening
  • 1 teaspoon butter flavored extract
  • 1 1/2 cups white sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 4 tablespoons red food coloring
  • 2 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 1/2 cups sifted all-purpose flour
  • 1 tablespoon distilled white vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1 (8 ounce) package cream cheese
  • 4 cups confectioners’ sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease and flour 2 – 9 inch round pans.
  2. Cream shortening, butter flavoring, sugar, and eggs until light and fluffy. Make a paste with food coloring and cocoa and add to the shortening mixture.
  3. Mix buttermilk, salt, baking soda and vinegar; add to mixture. Slowly add flour to mixture.
  4. Put batter into 2 greased 9 inch round pans. Bake at 350 degrees F (175 degrees C) for 25-30 minutes. Allow to cool completely, then frost with Cream Cheese Frosting.
  5. To Make Cream Cheese Frosting: Combine 1/2 cup butter, cream cheese, confectioners’ sugar and 1 teaspoon vanilla. Mix until well blended.
About akindafoodblog

I'm a picky foodie in training. I can't stop talking about food, so writing about it seems like a normal transition. There are so many foods I don't like, and that's a bit of a problem. I don't really know how to cook but I love to bake. So I'm on a culinary journey and I want to invite everyone to join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

