Teppanyaki and Yogurtland

Teppanyaki and Yogurtland outside of the University of Hawaii.  I haven’t been here in a while.  One of my best benefits to where “The One and Only Teppanyaki Wagon” is located.  We ordered then went into Yogurtland to get froyo.

Yogurtland, don't go when hungry

I have the red velvet and vanilla in this cup.  I filled it unusually high for me because it was right after I worked out and I was hungry.  It’s sprinkled with cookie dough bites and marashino cherries (which aren’t a type of cherry but the way they are preserved) then drizzled with chocolate sauce.  Have I mentioned that I’m super excited to try Pinkberry when we get back to Boston?  I’ve missed frozen yogurt in Boston.  I particularly like do it yourself places because I’m a control freak but I can live with just a regular frozen yogurt place.

I ordered the shrimp and steak plate from Teppanyaki, the blue truck that is parked on University Ave.  It came with a side of corn, rice, an onion and a couple slices of cucumber.   Teppanyaki (Teppan-iron, yaki-cook/fry/broil/etc) is food that is cooked on an iron griddle.  Seeing as shrimp is part of the only sea food I eat.  However, when you look at the plate below you will see two problems: the cucumber and the onion.  I nibbled on the middle of the onion, it wasn’t cooked to the point where I couldn’t call it an onion, the taste was still rather strong.  Then the cucumber has little taste and seems like a waste to eat it.  It has that same watery taste that I dislike in tomatoes so much but not as bitter.

Shrimp and Steak Plate 10$

The shrimp was cooked nicely, not rubbery.  And everything was seasoned great.  It came with a sauce on the side that tasted a little like vinegar, maybe it was an oil based sauce or something but I thought that the plate tasted good enough to not need it.  I was seriously hungry and the food was great; I ate most of the plate, ignoring the stuff I don’t like but tried.  i highly suggest you go here.  It’s not ridiculously expensive and you get a good portion for good food.  We need one of these things in Boston.

About akindafoodblog

I'm a picky foodie in training. I can't stop talking about food, so writing about it seems like a normal transition. There are so many foods I don't like, and that's a bit of a problem. I don't really know how to cook but I love to bake. So I'm on a culinary journey and I want to invite everyone to join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

