Deep Fried Pickles, this is not a euphemism or innuendo for anything else.

I haven’t been around much, it’s true.  But I’ll try to be around more.

On Friday it was my friend Matt Durham’s birthday.  We went to Cambridge Common.  It’s in Porter Square and is the restaurant part of the Lizard Lounge.  So because it was Matt’s 21st birthday they had 30 or so beers on taps not to mention an extensive list of mixed drinks with fun names (my favorite being the Hebrew Jewbilation).  The menu was traditionally American.  Under the appetizers was Deep Fried Pickles.

Deep Fried Pickles, not what I thought

I expected it to be pickle slices that were battered and deep fried because that’s how I saw it on tv.  It was not.  It was pickle slices that came with a kind of chipotle mayo and a ranch type dressing.  It was delicious.  The outside was crispy and the inside was still crunchy and juicy.  It almost sounds disgusting, but it’s not.  I understand that pickles are not everyone’s favorite so it’s actually pretty surprising that I like them.  I think that I’m pretty okay with sour-ish flavors because I also like capers which is also under dispute to whether people like them.  The sauces added a lot to the flavor because it tempered the sourness of the pickle.

For my main meal I had a burger.  It wasn’t the best burger I have had recently, Boston Burger Company is still doing the best (4.5/5), Filabusters is a close second (4/5).  This burger was a little bit dry.  The french fries were a little bland and I had to add salt.  I hate having to add salt to my foods.  It wasn’t bad though 2.5/5

About akindafoodblog

I'm a picky foodie in training. I can't stop talking about food, so writing about it seems like a normal transition. There are so many foods I don't like, and that's a bit of a problem. I don't really know how to cook but I love to bake. So I'm on a culinary journey and I want to invite everyone to join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

