Trying New Things: Indian Food

I’ve never actually had Indian food.  I mean I’ve had a samosa at the Multicultural banquet, but that’s not like being introduced to the culture.  So while watching an indie film, not a bollywood, called Outsourced (yes, it’s also a show) I decided that I want to try eating it.

So Sashi and I went to Bombay Cafe (175 Massachusetts Avenue) and I had no idea what to order, like I said the only thing that looked even slightly familiar to me was the Samosas.  I ordered the “Chicken Vindaloo” for two reasons; (1) I really like the word Vindaloo, (2) I do watch the show Outsourced and they made up a day called “Vindaloo day,” so I couldn’t help myself.  It’s description was “Chicken with a tangy sauce.”  Not extremely helpful when I have no idea what I’m getting myself into.  But hey it didn’t stop me.  I ordered that and the special shrimp samosas.

I liked the shrimp samosas a lot.  I was a little confused by how to actually eat the samosas, they’re a strange shape.  I cut into it but chances are I wasn’t supposed to.  So Samosas are potato stuffed pastries.  It had shrimp and scallions as well.  It was a bit spicy, but not too much.  I used the carrots and the cucumber to tamper the heat.

Shrimp Samosas

So my chicken Vindaloo.  It came with rice and looked like whatever Sashi got (but we didn’t get the same thing).  It smelled spicy, when I lifted a spoonful to my nose to sniff, my nose twitched.  I ordered a medium and almost reconsidered eating it.  It was a little tangy but not in the citrus sense.  Maybe a little bit of lime but it was a taste I couldn’t really recognize.  It was a bit spicy, but not too bad.  I drank about 3 cups of water but they were really small cups!  The rice was long grained and not sticky, which is traditionally Indian, you don’t want sticky sushi rice to go with it.

Chicken Vindaloo

Overall, I’d say I had a good experience at this restaurant.  I’m glad I tried it, definitely not ready for the spicy food but I’m willing to try something new.  I didn’t really have a choice as to what was new seeing as I didn’t recognize anything on the menu.  And maybe that’s the way I have to do it, because then I’m open to everything right?

About akindafoodblog

I'm a picky foodie in training. I can't stop talking about food, so writing about it seems like a normal transition. There are so many foods I don't like, and that's a bit of a problem. I don't really know how to cook but I love to bake. So I'm on a culinary journey and I want to invite everyone to join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

