Japanese Food

We tried a new restaurant in Porter Square called Tampopo.  I’ve only heard good things about them and the restaurant that I usually go to had a long wait.  Tampopo has great reviews on yelp.  They’re cheap and delicious.  The best of both worlds.  Dinner for two of us came up to 25$ plus tip.

I’m such a picky eater.  I don’t like most fish, aside from maguro (tuna) and ebi (shrimp).  It severely narrows my options for what I can or cannot eat at a restaurant.  I don’t like udon in soup, just  yaki udon.  And I refuse to eat anything that slithers (eel) or with tentacles (squid and octopus).

However, Sashi decided that the takoyaki which is ball of fried dough with octopus inside.  I think it looks good but with the knowledge of what’s in there.  Also the fact of the matter is on the menu they should not label it as “octopus balls” that gives everyone the wrong idea.

Takoyaki

The next day Sashi was eating a tomato sandwhich and asked which I’d eat first.  I actually chose the takoyaki because I know how much I don’t like tomatoes but I guess I could stand with being reminded of how much I hate octopus.

I had a croquette and karaage chicken.  Both of which are fried, so much for eating healthy.  I ordered the corn croquette which was filled with potatoes and corn.  I covered it with the sauce which is a little bit like barbecue sauce.

Corn Croquette

Croquettes are great.  They’re soft on the inside and crispy on the outside.  Usually they are filled with potato.

Sashi ordered the Tampopo don with the cream and curry croquettes in it.  He said the cream croquette reminded him of Alfredo sauce.  They had so many croquettes at Tampopo I really wanted to try each one but I don’t have that type of money or appetite.

Karaage Chicken and Rice

The special of the day was the spicy karaage but I can’t do spicy food so I got the mild version of it.  It’s Japanese fried chicken.  It has a nice crunch when you bite it with a little bit of a spice kick.

About akindafoodblog

I'm a picky foodie in training. I can't stop talking about food, so writing about it seems like a normal transition. There are so many foods I don't like, and that's a bit of a problem. I don't really know how to cook but I love to bake. So I'm on a culinary journey and I want to invite everyone to join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

