Corn Chowder

Let’s face it, I’m in the east coast now, which means that Chowder, sometimes pronounced as “chow-dah.”  I made corn chowder today because I love chowder.  I don’t like clam chowder so making corn chowder makes a lot more sense to me.

Chowder originated in the 18th century.  It’s a fisherman’s stew.

I started with frying the bacon on the bottom of the pot.  I added onions until they’re were soft.  It made the base for when I added the condensed cream of chicken, cream corn, canned corn (or frozen), milk and the potatoes.  I brought it to a boil and let it sit for 30 minutes until it thickened.  One reason why this is good is because it has so many ingredients from canned goods because in case of a shortage of some kind (which is why I think this is the Hawaii version).  Also I like that because if it’s cold outside I don’t know how willing I’ll be to leave my dorm to get chowder or ingredients that I don’t have.  I was slightly worried because it was dark and almost brown.  Normally chowder is a white-ish yellow.  I thought that maybe I burned it, but I did not.  It was delicious.

The thing about my chowder is that it came from a Hawaii cook book and the butter and stuff that makes cream corn creamy gives the chowder a little bit of a sweeter taste.  The chowder that I buy at Au Bon Pain is a little bit on the salty side.  I never add extra salt or pepper, I like it just the way it is.

About akindafoodblog

I'm a picky foodie in training. I can't stop talking about food, so writing about it seems like a normal transition. There are so many foods I don't like, and that's a bit of a problem. I don't really know how to cook but I love to bake. So I'm on a culinary journey and I want to invite everyone to join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

