Mac & Cheese

I had some reservations about making mac and cheese.  If there’s one experience that I’ve always remembered it’s my Uncle Paul.  He went on this kick about making mac and cheese.  Somehow the cheese always sunk to the bottom of the casserole pan.  So wandering into today’s adventure I had the feeling, oh no, this is going to come back to bite me in the butt.  This isn’t going to end out right.

So first off, I made the roux wrong.  Also, roux is pronounced “roo” not rox.  Who knew?  Anyway the recipe was printed like this:

  • 8 ounces uncooked elbow macaroni
  • 2 cups shredded sharp Cheddar cheese
  • 1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese
  • 3 cups milk
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 2 1/2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 1/2 cup bread crumbs
  • 1 pinch paprika

So I melted the 1/4 c. Butter, only to realize the definition of a roux.  A roux is made from equal parts butter and flour.  It’s whipped together in the pan until it has a thicker consistency.  So clearly, I did it wrong because 1/4 c. butter and 2.5 Tbsp does not equate to each other.  I had to start again.  I realized I did not begin in the best fashion and was worried about how the rest of my dish would turn out.

After the roux, it called for three cups of milk.  And three cups in proportion to that small amount of roux seemed very disproportionate.  But as it simmered it didn’t seem that bad.  Adding the cheese it thickened into what actually resembled a sauce.  At this point, I’m happy, it looks like I’m doing something right.  I poured it over the mac and cheese and stirred it thoroughly.

For the bread crumbs I put it into the skillet with some butter and browned it.  Then tried my darnedest to spread it as evenly as possible.  Clearly that didn’t happen but it didn’t matter once I scooped it out anyway.

It came out good.  I think how small the casserole dish is what makes sure that you get a bite of cheese and macaroni every time.  I was so excited when I pulled it out of the oven and I plated some for everyone in the kitchen.  It turned out great, it won’t taste as good when it has to be reheated but at this point, I really don’t think I’ll have any complaints.

 

To find the recipe go to: http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Homemade-Mac-and-Cheese/Detail.aspx

About akindafoodblog

I'm a picky foodie in training. I can't stop talking about food, so writing about it seems like a normal transition. There are so many foods I don't like, and that's a bit of a problem. I don't really know how to cook but I love to bake. So I'm on a culinary journey and I want to invite everyone to join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mac & Cheese

  1. Pingback: Mac & Cheese | International Travel Experience

Leave a Reply

