Pot Pie

We made a pot pie!  I thought Mahina and 4 boys, one kitchen, one goal; this isn’t going to end well.  It wasn’t as difficult as I thought it would be but we did it!  I had a bunch of my friends over last night and we made a pot pie.  It was amazing.  Call me cliche but things you make yourself really do taste better.

Taken from my phone because my camera was dead

We cheated though we used store bought pie crust.  But really, Mahina+4 boys+no real cooking supplies=horrible horrible mess/demolished kitchen.  So with what we had it was only a small mess.  Iron chef Sean McCabe cut the one small onion and shredded the chicken.  Everyone else basically provided entertainment as I made the inside stuff.  We also put in way too much butter (1/2 when it called for 1/3 c), but Paula Deen hasn’t died from butter overdose so is there really such thing as too much butter?  I started freaking out because once we put it in the oven the pot pie bubbled over a little bit and I was worried about smoke detectors and fire alarms.  We put the cookie sheet on the rack below it and it caught the mess.  Papa Jeff to the rescue!  I put some sheets of cookies in right after we pulled the pie out (and changed the temperature which made for some interesting cookies) and they were ready once we were ready to eat.  This recipe can be found in Pot Pies and Casseroles Magazine…yes, it is a real magazine.  And everything in it looks delicious.  I’d post the recipe but I don’t know whether I’d get in trouble for that.

The outside was just plain Pillsbury refrigerated pie crust.  But the insides had chicken, green beans, carrots, zucchini (didn’t really eat that) and chicken.  The sauce was made from butter, chicken broth and milk.  It thickened up to a good consistency when I was worried it would be too thin.  On some level it was because by the time it was out of the oven we were really hungry and just cut into it without letting it set too much.  But ooey gooey chicken pot pie isn’t necessarily a bad thing.  I’m sure it was awful for us but in the long run, it really was worth it.

I’d really like to make some smaller pot pies but that involves buying those glass things which cost money, so no.

But what will I do next?

About akindafoodblog

I'm a picky foodie in training. I can't stop talking about food, so writing about it seems like a normal transition. There are so many foods I don't like, and that's a bit of a problem. I don't really know how to cook but I love to bake. So I'm on a culinary journey and I want to invite everyone to join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

