I have finally done it!

I have finally eaten a deep fried cupcake sundae from Kickass Cupcakes in Davis Square.  They can also be seen on the Food Network Show Kid in a Candy Store.

 

Me with my deep fried cupcake sundae!

 

I giddily walked into the small store and gazed at all the cupcakes.  They looked good but I had come for one reason (even though I did end up getting another cupcake), the deep fried cupcake sundae.  I had seen it on TV and even heard about it right before I left but surely, I wasn’t going to try something that might make my heart stop beating?  I was.  The workers probably thought I was obnoxious because I was bouncing as they dropped the cupcake into the deep fryer and I waited anxiously.  Pacing in front of their cupcake display while Holly stood on the side and watched me.  You have to understand, I love cupcakes.  I consider myself a cupcake connoisseur and I intend to back it up by trying every cupcake I can get my hands on.  Since Kickass Cupcakes is known for their specialty cupcakes why not have them push it to the limits?

 

Deep Fried Cupcake Sundae

 

A deep fried cupcake is not what I thought it would taste like.  It was less sweet than I thought it would be.  It was a plain vanilla cupcake that was deep fried on top of Vanilla ice cream and chocolate sauce and topped with whipped cream and a maraschino cherry.  The heat of the cupcake and the ice cream was a great combination.  When I cut into the cupcake, which was quite difficult, it steamed a little bit.  Between the vanilla ice cream and whipped cream.  The crispiness of the cupcake.

However, this is not the only cupcake I had today.  I also had a cupcake from Sweet.  They sell cupcakes from a Backbay location and a Harvard location.  I got the cupcake outside their shop because of Honkfest and Oktoberfest.  So basically it was an outside market and a mess.  There were so many people at once I literally felt freed once out of the mob.  I stretched my arms and dusted them off because at last I could feel just me.  I made jokes that even if the boyfriend came over that night, I wouldn’t want him touching me because I’ve been touched way too much earlier in the day.  But Sweet had their own little table outside of their Harvard shop.  I got the red velvet after being overwhelmed with choices.

Clearly, the top got smashed from me carrying it.

Despite me giving it an unfortunate makeover, that was not an issue in this cupcake.  I thought it was moist but a little dry in some spots.  The frosting was overly sweet while the cupcake itself bordered on bland.  I have high expectation for 3$+ cupcakes.  I still would favor Lyndells over Sweet.  If I’m going to pay a fairly good amount for a cupcake I want it as close to perfect as possible.  Sweet has a few issues to work out before I can justify its price.

About akindafoodblog

I'm a picky foodie in training. I can't stop talking about food, so writing about it seems like a normal transition. There are so many foods I don't like, and that's a bit of a problem. I don't really know how to cook but I love to bake. So I'm on a culinary journey and I want to invite everyone to join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

