Banh Mi

I have grown up around Asian foods. One food I had never tried is a Vietnamese sandwich better known as a Banh Mi. It’s a baguette sandwich with vegetables and meat or tofu inside of it.

Okay, I’m a kid, let’s admit it. I don’t like vegetables. So the sandwich I had was carrots, onions, cucumbers, and cilantro. So the only one of the vegetables I like out of these is carrots. But I ate it when I bit into it. When I did bite into it, the baguette was toasted and crunchy. Then the next thing I tasted was the barbecue beef. I meant to get the teriyaki beef but it didn’t bad taste. Barbecue just seemed weird with the Asian flavors of the Banh Mi; barbecue is usually regarded as an American cuisine. Then the pickled vegetables, they taste a little bit sour and a little sweet. But they don’t taste like your average vegetable. And the cilantro, do not get me started on the cilantro. I do not like the cilantro. It’s bitter and leaves a bad taste in my mouth. But overall I think my problem with the Banh Mi is that it’s so large that I wanted a bite of everything to temper the strong flavors. The meat had such a strong barbecue flavor that the vegetables would have tempered it but I couldn’t fit the entire sandwich into my mouth to eat it all at once.

Barbecue Beef Banh Mi

The first thing I loved about this was that the sandwich and the meal boxes are $3 each (At New Saigon Sandwich, on Washington St in Boston’s Chinatown). I love cheap foods. And of course, for most people this would taste good but my aversion to vegetables alters my perspective. They also had smoothies but as it gets colder I can see how this would have a lower demand. Next time I’m getting the box lunch. But the sandwich this time, was good but it’s not exactly my cup of tea. But I can see how these sandwiches are popular but it could definitely be a good thing for college kids to know about.

About akindafoodblog

I'm a picky foodie in training. I can't stop talking about food, so writing about it seems like a normal transition. There are so many foods I don't like, and that's a bit of a problem. I don't really know how to cook but I love to bake. So I'm on a culinary journey and I want to invite everyone to join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

