Cooking Adventure

So, my roommate Holly and I cooked dinner/lunch for later tonight. Holly literally had to walk me through everything. While I can bake, cooking is a different story. I smell like garlic.

Food and prep

We diced the onions and the garlic.  But when we were in Shaws getting the onions and the garlic we had a moment of of confusion because we weren’t sure whether a clove of garlic was the entire thing we had in our hand or whether the cloves were the things inside.  This little old lady was looking at us and she goes, “what are you two girls talking about?”  And we told her, she went on to explain, “that thing you’re holding is an entire head, the cloves are inside.”  Oooh.  Also, I’d like to say that we totally made that woman’s day.  I mean she knows she just saved dinner.

So first of all, I had to learn to dice the onions and the garlic.  The garlic I already knew how to do, but the onions was a work in process.  We tweaked the recipe completely.  I ignored the measurements of the basil, rosemary and pepper and did what we thought looked good.  We had to brown the chicken, take it out of the skillet, and put the chicken back in with the onions and garlic, and the chicken broth.  It seemed like quite the hassle if you ask me.  But I suppose it was so the chicken didn’t get overcooked once we added the broth.  Next time I think we’ll try it while it’s still in the pan.  Holly says she didn’t do a lot, but she really did.  She made sure I didn’t kill myself or anyone in the near vicinity.  When the olive oil was bubbling I kind of just dropped the chicken inside the pan apparently that was a no no.  I won’t do that again.

Overall, it was a good experience.  The room smelled so good while we were cooking.  I need more practice cooking.  It tasted good, it wasn’t over seasoned.  The Parmesan cheese was a good addition but I’d like to make it so that it’s not as necessary.

The finished Product

About akindafoodblog

I'm a picky foodie in training. I can't stop talking about food, so writing about it seems like a normal transition. There are so many foods I don't like, and that's a bit of a problem. I don't really know how to cook but I love to bake. So I'm on a culinary journey and I want to invite everyone to join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

