Tasteless and Flavorless

My marketing teacher was saying how vodka is tasteless and scentless.  I disagree.  I don’t even drink alcohol and I disagree.  When people have been drinking I can smell it.  The other week we went to a movie and somewhere near me someone had been drinking.  It was a little overwhelming.  I figure I might be super sensitive to the stuff since I don’t drink.  Even though I don’t drink, I’m pretty sure that vodka has a taste, it might not have flavor but I’m pretty sure it has a taste.  From what I understand it tastes like burning but what do I know, this is not my area of expertise.

But this raises the question, whats the difference between something that’s flavorless and something that’s tasteless?

To taste (v): to ascertain the flavor of by taking a little into the mouth.
taste (N): the special sense that perceives and distinguishes the sweet, sour, bitter, or salty quality of a dissolved substance and is mediated by taste buds on the tongue.

Flavor (N): a archaic : odor, fragrance
b : the quality of something that affects the sense of taste
c : the blend of taste and smell sensations evoked by a substance in the mouth <the flavor of apples>

What I’m deriving from the difference is that there are more usages for the word taste, seeing as it is not only a verb but also a noun.  Both words can be applied to things not dealing with food.  But the way my marketing teacher said “it has no taste” was just so difficult for me to get around.  I mean, if there’s no taste, why do people drink it?  I have been informed it does have a taste.  People make vodka cake, so surely, they wouldn’t use something bland in it.  It’s all a play on words and how well you communicate about the food you’re eating.

About akindafoodblog

I'm a picky foodie in training. I can't stop talking about food, so writing about it seems like a normal transition. There are so many foods I don't like, and that's a bit of a problem. I don't really know how to cook but I love to bake. So I'm on a culinary journey and I want to invite everyone to join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

