Hello there, New England

They say I’m officially a New Englander now.  This isn’t a food post about what I have ate, this is about what I have done.  It has food involved but not necessarily what I’ve eaten this weekend.  This weekend I went apple picking for the first time.  I had my first hay ride.  And I drank my first non sparkling apple cider (it was a fairly warm day so it was a cold one but hey I drank it).

So I’ve never seen an apple tree before.  I assumed that apple trees were as big as a palm tree or those trees in the common.  Basically I thought I’d have to climb the tree and possibly kill myself.  For heaven’s sake, they’re just a little bit taller than I am.  You do need longer arms to get the good apples, but like I trust my weight on that smallish tree.

Apple Tree

So apple picking, why would you pick apples when you can buy them from the super market?  Well, I can’t say I’d do this on a daily basis but, you get to see your apples and choose them yourself.  There were a lot of rotten apples that I didn’t expect.  Apparently the apples seasoned early or something.  There were rotten apples on the trees, rotten apples on the ground, rotten apples everywhere.  It was almost upsetting and kind of a waste.  I do have pictures of rotten apples, but really none of you need to see that.  I admit apple picking was fun.

After apple picking we went on a hayride to go get the pumpkins, no I didn’t go on a haunted hayride, but I did see my first pumpkin patch.  Let me tell you, pumpkins are dirty.  I mean, yes they grow in the ground.  Thank you, Capt. Obvious.  But no one told me they would be caked in dirt and so oddly shaped.

I think they made the picture cute, I have no idea who they are.

We took the hayride back to the farm and I got apples with caramel and my apple cider.  The apples and caramel was SO SWEET.  It was almost too sweet, I definitely drank water before drinking my cider.  I don’t even want to think about how much sugar I consumed from eating the apples with caramel.  The cider however, did not taste like sparkling apple cider or apple juice (like I assumed it would).  The cider isn’t as diluted as apple juice, it’s like pure apple

Apples, caramel and whipped cream

I guess what I’m trying to say, is that apple picking wasn’t that bad.  It was a fun experience.  And I tried something I’ve never had before.  I saw the process in which our food is grown.  It was something that, according to Amanda, makes me a real person now.  It was new, but I can tell you I’m not ready to be a New Englander.

About akindafoodblog

I'm a picky foodie in training. I can't stop talking about food, so writing about it seems like a normal transition. There are so many foods I don't like, and that's a bit of a problem. I don't really know how to cook but I love to bake. So I'm on a culinary journey and I want to invite everyone to join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

