Why I Eat

I had this idea for nonfiction after we did a piece called “Why I Write.”  Despite how picky I am I eat and I love eating.  I’m not one of the “eat to live” type people, I’m a live to eat type person.  I take my pickiness as caring about my food a little bit too much.  In this respects I have narrowed my food choices too much.  Unfortunately, the way I have interpreted food and need to rethink food is that if it’s healthy it tastes gross, but if it tastes good it has to be bad for you.  This isn’t always necessarily true, but I sure like to think it is.  But why do I eat if I’m so restrictive about what I eat?  I mean I could just eat the most nutritious foods of the foods I do eat.  But that wouldn’t be fun for me.  The foods I do eat are determined by what tastes good.

But why do I eat?  I eat because it tastes good, if eating is such a hassle for some people they should at least get enjoyment out of it.  I love sweets, salty, the occasional spicy but I’m not good with sour.  I want to eat more which is why I’m trying to expand my culinary horizons, I want to be able to eat everything that is recommended to me with an open mind.

Food is universal.  Each culture has food that is uniquely it’s own and it says something about the culture.  It shows their values, what hardships brought up some unique dishes (like spam musubi), it shows what kind of culture they had and why they had to eat this type of food.  Food teaches us.  Food is what brings my friends and family together for parties and let’s us reconnect.  But surely, if the food did not taste good no body would come to these parties?  Good food is what brings us together.

I eat because I’m hungry.  I eat because I’m bored.  I eat because I want to connect with people.

About akindafoodblog

I'm a picky foodie in training. I can't stop talking about food, so writing about it seems like a normal transition. There are so many foods I don't like, and that's a bit of a problem. I don't really know how to cook but I love to bake. So I'm on a culinary journey and I want to invite everyone to join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

