Coleslaw

Coleslaw tastes like mayonnaise therefore it makes the “do not eat” list.  I don’t like mayonnaise, it’s oily, has a strange texture and even tastes a little eggy.  I don’t like eggs either.  Even the smell is off putting.  So, I solve the problem by not eating mayonnaise, which includes coleslaw.  This isn’t necessarily a bad thing because mayonnaise is not exactly good for you.

The healthiness or lack of healthiness of mayonnaise is not why I’m writing though.  I ate the chipotle coleslaw chicken sandwich from Au Bon Pain.  Obviously, I knew there was slaw in there, yet I passed up my usual favorite for this new sandwich.  It wasn’t completely drenched in mayonnaise, which is probably why it didn’t bother me as much as it should.  The chipotle gave it a stronger flavor that actually over powered most of the mayonnaise flavor, which is good for me.  The chicken was grilled, not sliced.  I can appreciate chicken both ways, because as much as I don’t eat other foods, I do eat my fair share of chickens.  So I have conquered coleslaw, I don’t like it but I can eat it.  If it is dripping with mayonnaise my friends might still find the coleslaw magically on their plates or near their plate.  I’m having a hard time that when I don’t like a food and have come to terms with said food, wanting to eat that food.  Just because I can eat it, doesn’t mean I want to eat it.  Like how I’ll never crave crab, I need to fully immerse myself in a meal, not just take one bite and call it tasted.  I think that I need to eat almost an entire portion for me to make a judgment.  But of course, it needs to be well cooked, or else it’ll ruin all future meals of that type.  I should really send in my list of what I do and don’t eat into a competitive cooking show and tell them to make me something I find yummy with it…  Top Chef All Stars perhaps?

About akindafoodblog

I'm a picky foodie in training. I can't stop talking about food, so writing about it seems like a normal transition. There are so many foods I don't like, and that's a bit of a problem. I don't really know how to cook but I love to bake. So I'm on a culinary journey and I want to invite everyone to join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

