Flour Sticky Buns

My homework assignment for my writing class was to go out and walk.  So I did.  I walked around the South End because it’s one of my lesser explored areas.  I happened to remember that Flour (a bakery that was featured on The Best Thing I Ever Ate and Throwdown with Bobby Flay).  Okay, so I knew it was there it tipped the favor of me walking in that direction rather towards Cambridge.  Flour is known for their sticky sticky buns.  Seeing as at this time it was almost 2 pm, and I heard they sell out rather quickly I wasn’t very hopeful to get a sticky sticky bun, but I was ready to get whatever else they had to offer. The walls were painted blue and had their motto, “make life sweeter…eat dessert first” painted on the walls in yellow.  It wasn’t a particularly big shop but it’s like a coffeehouse, I didn’t expect it to be big.  But with out door seating it was cozy, during the winter I can see how finding a seat could be a major problem. I was there for about 15 minutes getting my food and eating.  There was consistently a line (of different people but it was busy especially for 2 pm).

While standing in line, I noticed that they only had four sticky buns left.  My heart soars, it’s sad.  I order the roast beef, horseradish, crispy onion sandwich.  My food is served a short time after.  But, they didn’t give me my sticky bun.  So I quickly ask where it is they grab the last one and tell me how lucky I am to get the last one.  I refrain from telling the girl how happy I am to just be at Flour.  The glaze on the bun has hardened to a kind of crust, which is disappointing but again, seeing as it’s 2 and it was probably made much earlier in the morning, it’s not a big deal.  I cut a piece of the end and stuck it in my mouth, without even taking a bite of my sandwich (and I was STARVING).  The glaze was good, it didn’t taste like a cinnamon roll but I also can’t exactly tell you what it does taste like.  There was definite a lot of sugar, a slight citrus taste, a sprinkle of cinnamon. When I was chewing on the Sticky sticky bun, it started getting stuck to my teeth and mouth, it was incredibly ooey and sticky in the best possible way.

Flour's Sticky Sticky Bun

The sandwich was really good as well.  The fact that the onions were crispy and that’s the only way I eat onions makes me think that they know their audience (aka me) very well.  Except they seem to have forgotten that I don’t eat tomatoes and I pulled them out.  I started alternating between eating the sticky bun and eating my sandwich as to get the mix of sweet and savory that I enjoy so much.

Roast Beef sandwich with horseraddish and crispy onions

As I started nearing the center of the sticky bun, where the nuts accumulated, the fear started setting in.  I don’t like nuts.  I’m not allergic to them or anything, just don’t like them.  While I can’t say that the nuts added anything to my culinary experience, it did help to give the sticky bun a texture variance.  It would have been too much work to pick off all those nuts, so I ate them like a big girl (we’re totally counting that as my thing for the week that I ate but I don’t like).  It was good, just don’t think you’re getting a cinnamon roll because you will be disappointed, but not a lot because it is still very delicious.

About akindafoodblog

I'm a picky foodie in training. I can't stop talking about food, so writing about it seems like a normal transition. There are so many foods I don't like, and that's a bit of a problem. I don't really know how to cook but I love to bake. So I'm on a culinary journey and I want to invite everyone to join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

