Barking Crab

I don’t hide the fact that I’m one picky eater.  So shell fish, minus shrimp, are on the strictly do not eat list.  However, I do enjoy the occasional imitation crab but not real crab.  Yes, I’m weird.  Get over it.

So obviously, finding myself misplaced at the Barking Crab I had the fried chicken with fries, mediocre.  I did try some of the crab.  I tried a little bit of some little crab that I don’t know the name of and the King Crab.  I could taste the difference.  The King Crab tastes a little sweeter almost like the imitation crab that I actually like.  The smaller one wasn’t as sweet.  I spent a lot of my dinner asking about shell fish; how to open it, where the best meat was, what the hell was the green stuff on the inside of the lobster, what’s the difference between different shell fish (or shell fish of the same variety-crab and king crab, etc).  I didn’t mind either, but I don’t see myself craving it or wanting more of it.  Perhaps, it’s an acquired taste?

Neptune Platter

I can’t bring myself to eat the lobster.  They look like big scary bugs with bulging eyes.  They would eat you if they were given the chance.  The lobsters have antenna and fuzzy legs just like my most hated creepy crawlie, the cockroach.  They scare me so badly and the similarities are downright astonishing.  If you boiled a cockroach, maybe they look the same.  The lobster and cockroach may as well be one and the same.  The green nastiness on the inside of the lobster was also quite off putting.  That can’t be in any way healthy to eat.  I’m terrified of lobsters.  Their shells seem much harder than that of the crab.  And in regards to all the shell fish, I don’t like that cracking noise that comes with eating them.  It sounds like something vital (in a human, like a bone) cracking and that sir, is not right.  There is an animalistic quality that arises from people that are eating shellfish.  Unless you have someone to open the shellfish and feed you, there is no way to look cute while eating it or look classy (the bib that comes with most of these meals do not help).  Maybe, I’m just down right lazy?  The effort for eating shell fish could be spent doing something else.

Lobster-notice the antenna and furry pincer things

Scariest of all bugs, notice Antenna and furry legs

Shellfish have been tried, I’m uncomfortable eating them, but I’ve tried them.  That’s what matters.  Perhaps, I’ll try a bigger bite next time.  Then again, maybe not.

About akindafoodblog

I'm a picky foodie in training. I can't stop talking about food, so writing about it seems like a normal transition. There are so many foods I don't like, and that's a bit of a problem. I don't really know how to cook but I love to bake. So I'm on a culinary journey and I want to invite everyone to join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

