Panya

So I meant to write about this a while ago and at the moment ago.  One of the many things I miss while being on the mainland is Japanese bakeries.  This picture below, is from Panya (Yes, it’s a bread store..named bread store.).  It’s pretty fabulous.  Now, what the difference between an American bakery and a Japanese bakery.  It’s just different.  Most American bakeries supply foods like cakes, donuts, cream puffs, etc.  The Japanese bakeries usually provide those things but also savory dishes.  My favorite is basically a pig in a blanket, but bigger.  It has a line of mustard down the middle that’s been baked with the hot dog.  It also comes with Tabasco and ketchup or even mayonnaise.  Other savory dishes are ham and cheese buns, spam and cheese buns, etc.  Providing savory dishes gives someone an entire meal, not just something sweet that might only tide them over an hour or two.  The savory dishes usually have a type of meat, a source of protein, which helps to fill you up and sustain fullness for a certain amount of time as well.  It’s great to eat on the go or just in general.  It’s such a unique spin on things, and I wish we had them on the mainland, I definitely haven’t seen any.

About akindafoodblog

I'm a picky foodie in training. I can't stop talking about food, so writing about it seems like a normal transition. There are so many foods I don't like, and that's a bit of a problem. I don't really know how to cook but I love to bake. So I'm on a culinary journey and I want to invite everyone to join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment