The Food of Love

So some people say oysters are the food of love (okay, ew.  That’s nasty, love is the last thing I feel).  Some people say strawberries and champagne or sea urchins or chocolate.  There are so many and of course some of them are myths.  Some of them are definitely appreciated, but not necessary.  However, foods to me that are kind of the food of love, or aphrodisiacs are foods that are made with love.

Last week, the boyfriend was over from New Hampshire (all the way over to Hawaii), he knows I have a love for crepes.  I usually get crepes from Le Crepe Cafe in Manoa.  Instead, he made me crepes with bananas, strawberries and brown sugar (it’s The Special from Le Crepe Cafe, he just tried to imitate it for me, in hopes that I’d like it).  It’s true, it’s not as good the ones in Le Crepe Cafe, but it’s because he made it for me, specifically for me.  That made it special.  He put effort into it and I felt loved.  It had nothing to do with the ingredients for the crepes but rather the act of making them.  We could have just bought it, but this was better.
Side Note: Boyfriend also knows what a picky eater I am and has been trying to make sure that whenever he cooks for me it’s full of foods I will eat and that I like.  So while I’m difficult he’s working on making me happy. 🙂

So maybe there are foods that help to increase love or are aphrodisiacs, but then again, maybe not.  The entire idea of aphrodisiac foods originated because it would seem that after eating foods the rate of fertility improved.  But keep in mind that food was sparser back then than it is now.  Of course, if you could eat more fertility would be better because your health would be better.  It might be because we’re trained to associate certain foods with love and sex.  There’s no proof proving it or disproving it though.  Some foods may produce certain chemical effects (for example, chocolate releasing serotonin and endorphins to make a pleasurable effect.)  Whatever it is, there are other factors to why those foods may affect love and sex.

My Boyfriend must love me to make me such nummy goodness

About akindafoodblog

I'm a picky foodie in training. I can't stop talking about food, so writing about it seems like a normal transition. There are so many foods I don't like, and that's a bit of a problem. I don't really know how to cook but I love to bake. So I'm on a culinary journey and I want to invite everyone to join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

