Who Taught You to Love Food

CNN asked Chef Graham Elliot, who taught him to love food.  He said his dad.  Do you really need to be taught to love food?  I feel like food has always been part of my life that I always loved it.  I mean it’s one of those things I don’t even think about.  Why yes, I do love breathing it keeps me alive…Just like that.  But it goes deeper than that.  With food though, I love the way it tastes, yea I could eat plain, healthy, tasteless food, but that wouldn’t really make me love food.  I am a picky eater, so I only love certain foods.  As a kid, I loved hamburgers, chicken nuggets, french fries, basically not so good for you foods.

I still love those foods but I have expanded the variety.  A good fall back for me if I don’t know what to order at a restaurant is usually a hamburger, but also some type of steak (I always pray that the chef won’t mess up steak, because steak while not exactly simple is one of the staple meats that chefs should know how to prepare).  I’ve come to appreciate foods that aren’t fried (even though I still love those that are.).  But I can appreciate vegetables for their distinct flavors and how they mesh well with sauces (dressings, melted cheese, etc.)  I know that trying new foods are important now.  Even just so I can train my palette a little better, it’s good to be able to recognize what types of food I’m trying and describing.

So who taught me to love food?  As I’ve said, I have always loved food, just certain foods.  So the people responsible for making me love foods are of course, the people that provided me with food, my favorite foods.  My mom and dad.  Every weekend morning my dad would make me chicken nugget, rice and ketchup and that was my breakfast while watching cartoons.  I was pretty easy to please.  They never really made me try foods out of my comfort zone, they always let me choose foods I wanted to eat.  But because of that that’s probably part of the reason for my current pickiness.  But we’re on the journey to fix that.

About akindafoodblog

I'm a picky foodie in training. I can't stop talking about food, so writing about it seems like a normal transition. There are so many foods I don't like, and that's a bit of a problem. I don't really know how to cook but I love to bake. So I'm on a culinary journey and I want to invite everyone to join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

