There’s something I’ve Always wanted to try

My dad says three things make any food taste delicious butter, mayonnaise and bacon… I don’t eat mayonnaise and I just started eating bacon again.

Bacon is the latest craze when it comes to dessert.  Voodoo Donuts in Portland, OR makes a maple bacon donut bar.  Duff, from Ace of Cake, one of his favorite desserts is the bacon crunch bar (at a restaurant called Animal in LA).  Personally, I want to try making a dark chocolate bacon cupcake but because bacon seems like such an unapproachable item to go into dessert nobody really wants to try it if I make it.  I can’t eat an entire batch of chocolate bacon cupcakes by myself.

Bacon has such a wide versatility and so many benefits when creating a new dish.  Sure, it’s not the healthiest thing at all but, hey you only live once.  Sometimes living is about trying something new even though it’s daunting.  It’s really weird for me to be saying that just because of how picky I am.  Chocolate sauce, ice cream and crispy crispy bacon; sounds simple and delicious.  But what do you do for vegetarians/vegans?  No idea.  They’re missing out and on their own…George Clooney suggested not saying anything about there being bacon and just divert it from their attention where that crispy saltiness originated from.

If I haven’t told you by now I really enjoy having multiple flavors in one dish.  So sweet and salty, spicy and sweet, etc.  Something to temper the other flavor and compliment it at the same time (sounds like my relationships :P).  One of my favorite side dishes to a bowl of vanilla ice cream is french fries.  I can’t just have one flavor in a dish it makes it boring.  You need something else to differentiate the flavors to fully appreciate them.

On a side note, I have a potluck coming up and I don’t know what to make.  What should I make?

About akindafoodblog

I'm a picky foodie in training. I can't stop talking about food, so writing about it seems like a normal transition. There are so many foods I don't like, and that's a bit of a problem. I don't really know how to cook but I love to bake. So I'm on a culinary journey and I want to invite everyone to join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to There’s something I’ve Always wanted to try

  1. Kittie says:

    I’m thinking something bacony for your potluck! I agree with your dad about 2 out of 3; butter and bacon definitely make everything better. Mayo…is a vehicle. I enjoyed this article. 🙂

Leave a Reply

