Spinach Artichoke Dip

Seeing as I’m the picky foodie, I have to tell you about what I’ve found about the foods I don’t like.  So something I’ve recently fallen out of hate and in love with is spinach artichoke dip, or a variety of spinach things really.  I am still a little bit iffy on the artichokes in the dip but I noticed it’s not a completely overwhelming taste.  It was creamy and thick because of the spinach.  There’s definitely quite a bit of salt in the dip, which can be a little overwhelming but that’s why you use the salt free chips.

I don’t know exactly why I didn’t like spinach artichoke dip.  I think I was just one of those people that didn’t grow out of not liking vegetables, so trying a new vegetable is fairly intimidating for me.  So spinach doesn’t have the same texture or flavor as lettuce as I assumed, I thought that since they were both leafy vegetables and green so they must taste similarly.  The spinach has less of a bitter taste and the texture of the spinach leaf is much smoother than that of a lettuce leaf.  So in salads and in the dip it’s smoother.

So my friend, Alyse, and I would go to California Pizza Kitchen kind of often.  We were regulars.  I’d get the Fettuccine Alfredo with Shrimp and she would order some type of pizza or pasta, she was willing to mix it up.  She would order the spinach and artichoke dip on occasion for an appetizer.  I would always grimace when I saw it.  It was just this green goopy thing served with tortilla chips which just tasted like salt.  I would sit on the side and nibble on a chip while everyone else ate the dip and chips and seemingly loved it.  So one day at the California Pizza Kitchen in Boston, not with Alyse,  I shared the appetizer with some friends.  I very carefully dipped a corner into the dip, catching just a little green goop on the chip.  I carefully nibbled on it only to find that it wasn’t as bad as I thought it was going to be.  It was served warm with the chips.  The purple chips tasted less salty but the beige one had more crunch, this of course, could be all in my head.  I picked up another chip then dipped it again, this time getting more of the spinach.  I couldn’t and still cannot taste the artichoke to this day.  But the dip was a good level of salty on the crunchy chip.  I like the crunchiness of the chip in comparison to the soft chip.  It allows for texture variance.  I now order it whenever I can.  I came home and went to CPK with Alyse.  She was looking at the menu, when I said, “why don’t we get the spinach artichoke dip?”  I swear, her mouth opened.  And she asked, “You?  You want the dip?”  Why, yes.  I did/do/always will.  It’s something new and different for me.  People will be surprised for whatever I plan on trying next.

About akindafoodblog

I'm a picky foodie in training. I can't stop talking about food, so writing about it seems like a normal transition. There are so many foods I don't like, and that's a bit of a problem. I don't really know how to cook but I love to bake. So I'm on a culinary journey and I want to invite everyone to join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

