Local Business

I can’t stress how much I like to support local businesses.  Today I went to the Made In Hawaii Festival, which is on for ONE more day.  There were a lot of stands many having to do with food.  There were a lot of sauce and jellies stands.  The sauce stands all featured some type of hot spicy sauce, which I’m sure was good but I can’t handle spicy so I didn’t try it.  But they looked and smelled spicy.  One of them, the Kilauea hot sauce made Chad (who could eat most of the sauces on his own) cough.  I think that sauces are so important to a meal because it can really make or ruin your entire meal so having a good one is very important.  While store bought sauces are fine, there is something to be said about homemade sauces.  Homemade sauces make me feel so much more proud about what I’ve done.  But because the Made In Hawaii festival has so many sauce stands it’s also very fulfilling to find the perfect sauce out of all of the stands there.

What I found interesting about the jelly stands were the lilikoi butter, mango butter, chili pepper jelly, etc.  These flavors are visibly influenced by Hawaii.  Hawaii residents enjoy tropical fruit and other fruits year round.  And since Hawaii is tropical they are allowed tropical fruits like mango.  So it makes mango chutney and butters.  I don’t think there are many other places you’ll find such things for sale because of availability.

There were a lot of non food related booths as well but the food booths are what stop people.  There were chip booths, cookie booths, a small open market, and kettle corn.

About akindafoodblog

I'm a picky foodie in training. I can't stop talking about food, so writing about it seems like a normal transition. There are so many foods I don't like, and that's a bit of a problem. I don't really know how to cook but I love to bake. So I'm on a culinary journey and I want to invite everyone to join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

