North Shore Adventure-Local food

What to write about.  I’ve had so much good food today.  We traveled the fabulous North Shore today.  We had some Dole Whip at Dole Cannery, Garlic shrimp at Hono’s, and Shave ice at Shimazu’s (okay, that’s not the north shore…but it was on the way home…kinda).  The Dole whip isn’t just the Dole whip you get anywhere it’s the one at the cannery.  It’s fresh and soft.  Having just experienced Golden Maui Pineapples and their specific deliciousness I feel a little disappointed but Dole is just regular pineapple.  The pineapples from Maui offer a subtly sweetness that Dole pineapples overpower.  The Garlic shrimp at Hono’s wasn’t Giovanni’s (Okay, so we tried to get there and put it into the GPS and totally did not find it, only to eat at Hono’s then later find out Giovanni’s was right down the street).  But it was pretty good.  There was a lot of butter, but as with most foods, that’s what makes it good.  The garlic was a little bit heavy but it was still good.  I love garlic.  The shrimp trucks need to find a way to better infuse the actual shrimp with the garlic not just leaving it on the outside.  I’ll upload pictures later!  From Hono’s.  When we went to Shimazu’s I got a small banana lychee shave ice but it fell.  I’m that kid that drops the ice cream after you get it.

Tonight we went to the Side Street Diner.  Fabulous local food.  We had a table full of garlic edamame, crinkle cut fries, Kalbi, Rib eye steak, pork chops (this was the thing I don’t eat but ate)  and Fried Chicken.  Or rather, that’s all what I ate.  There was some other stuff, but as a picky foodie I didn’t really try.  I think I did not touch the Moi, it’s fish, I couldn’t bring myself to do it.  But I did eat the pork chops for 2 reasons: I need to expand my eating horizons and it smelled really good.  It was crispy on the outside and tender on the inside.  So I don’t know how pork chops are supposed to go, but are you supposed to be given a small cup of ketchup on the side?  Because the way I feel is that if the food is good enough you don’t need extra condiments and stuff to help the food, but ketchup is a sauce that compliments the pork chop?  Hmm.  I don’t know I’d love to hear your thoughts.  The fried chicken is always my favorite.  It has a perfect crispiness to go with the moist tender inside.  You can eat it plain or with ketchup.  They provided ketchup and it tasted good that way too because the dryness of the crispy skin melded well with the ketchup.  I don’t know where I stand on whether if you need to add ketchup to a food if that makes it good food or if that just compliments it in the end.  But the point of this post is to say that I’ve had a lot of good food today and you should be jealous.

About akindafoodblog

I'm a picky foodie in training. I can't stop talking about food, so writing about it seems like a normal transition. There are so many foods I don't like, and that's a bit of a problem. I don't really know how to cook but I love to bake. So I'm on a culinary journey and I want to invite everyone to join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

