Luau

Okay, so when you think of Luau, the stereotypical one that all the tourists want, you think of hula dancers, pineapple, and what else?  Tonight I went to the Hilton Hawaiian Village’s Waikiki under the Starlight with Chad.  He was impressed.  I, however, was not.  The most traditional food they had was the poi (a grey-purple gelatinous substance from mashed taro) and kalua pig (pig that is cooked in an emu-underground pit).  The huli huli chicken was local, but luau food…hmm.   While I love huli huli chicken it should be made on a spit and have bits of charred skin on it.  But it was completely clean.  I guess that’s better for you but then it’s really not huli huli chicken.  The fried rice, that I don’t even eat, was undercooked. Then there was the pot roast, it was delicious.  It was moist and tender.  However, it felt rather out of place.  When I think luau I think chicken long rice, lau lau, white rice, kalua pig, lomi lomi salmon, poi, etc.  More of the foods that are indigenous to Hawaii.  I mean if you want to come to a “Hawaiian Luau” shouldn’t you want it to be almost as authentic as possible.
Also, I forgot to take pictures of the food.  It didn’t really seem worth it.  So here is a picture I took of the Samoan Fire Dancers.

About akindafoodblog

I'm a picky foodie in training. I can't stop talking about food, so writing about it seems like a normal transition. There are so many foods I don't like, and that's a bit of a problem. I don't really know how to cook but I love to bake. So I'm on a culinary journey and I want to invite everyone to join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

