Investment Theory

I am determined to write about food, even when I don’t know what to write about.

I think the most intimidating thing about food is that you don’t know what to expect.  I tend to always go in expecting the absolute worse, that suppose that cooked fish slapped on the plate in front of me tastes like that fish the fisherman held in his hand, scales and all.  Also the of the matter is that once I taste the food, if the food were to prepared badly through no fault of my own, that could effect the way I see that particular food from now on.

I also think you can apply Investment theory about relationships to food.  The investment theory is that once you’re in a relationship, you invest so much time, effort, money, etc. that it’s difficult to break up with the significant other.  Even if the significant other makes you miserable.  You invest so much you don’t want it to end or end badly.

So in those terms, I think that when you go to a restaurant and you commit to a certain meal that you’re investing your money in, you want to expect something good in return.  You don’t want to go home and have to eat something different.  It’s not like you can have a sample before you eat the actual meal.  But it would be nice to know, just from a bite to what you should expect.  I am afraid of going out and trying new foods because what happens if I don’t like it?  Do I sit there awkwardly and stare at it?  Or do I try to trade with someone?  But I did pay for it, so I expect it to be good but there’s no way to guarantee that.

Trying any food subjectively is difficult.  You know what you’re thinking about expecting from this food but that doesn’t mean it’ll end up that way.  But it’s hard to get that preconceived notion out of your head.  Once you commit to a food you really have to commit to it.  You invest in it and hope for the best.

About akindafoodblog

I'm a picky foodie in training. I can't stop talking about food, so writing about it seems like a normal transition. There are so many foods I don't like, and that's a bit of a problem. I don't really know how to cook but I love to bake. So I'm on a culinary journey and I want to invite everyone to join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

