New Agenda

So yesterday, I did not write a post and the goal is to write a post everyday.  But I had an awful case of writer’s block, like I didn’t know what to write about at all, it was really upsetting.  As we know I’m a picky eater.  Not a picky eater like Selective Eating Disorder picky, but pretty picky.  So my culinary journey is that I’m going to try to expand my eating horizons.  I will try to eat more foods out of my comfort zone.  The goal is every week to try a food I don’t like and then write about it.

What would work ideally in the best possible way is if I gave someone the list of foods I don’t like then they can buy me a food and not tell me what’s the food in it that I don’t like is in it.  But I’d find the food and pick it out.  So really, I have to try to force myself to eat the foods I don’t like subjectively.  But it is extremely difficult for me to eat a food when I know that there is a mushroom or something in the food, I can definitely see it then easily pick it out, in fact I’m pretty much a pro at doing by this point.

Today, I went to Genki Sushi at Windward.  This is a good place for beginners to try sushi because they get to choose what they want to eat off the conveyor belt and it’s cheaper than ordering the sample platter at super nice Japanese restaurants.  You can choose what you want to try as it passes you.  So today my sister talked me into grabbing the Ocean Salad sushi.  It has pickled seaweed with sesame seeds on top of rice and wrapped in nori.  So I couldn’t chicken out, I picked up the entire thing and popped it in my mouth.  The pickled seaweed on top felt interesting, it was kind of like a thicker pieces of grass in your mouth.  It provided a nice crunch on top of the soft rice and the slightly soggy nori.  The pickled seaweed tasted even had a bit of a sweetness to it.  I didn’t hate it, but it’s just weird to acclimate yourself to the food you previously thought you didn’t like.  Then trying to like it even.  I have to say it was an experience, it wasn’t something I’d necessarily say no to, but it wasn’t awful either.

I also ate a corn sushi.  It’s kind of weird to be just eating rice and corn.  Usually corn is just a side not something put on top.  The corn was mixed with mayonnaise.  I don’t like mayonnaise due to my dislike of eggs.  The smell itself is kind of overpowering, it’s distinctive, and off putting.  Mayonnaise has a weird texture and it’s bland but at the same time disgustingly flavorful.  I can’t explain why I don’t like mayonnaise, but it definitely shouldn’t belong on rice.  But it wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be.  It probably would have been better if it was some type of meat, but I don’t eat a lot of fishes so that shall be my next challenge.

Corn sushi

About akindafoodblog

I'm a picky foodie in training. I can't stop talking about food, so writing about it seems like a normal transition. There are so many foods I don't like, and that's a bit of a problem. I don't really know how to cook but I love to bake. So I'm on a culinary journey and I want to invite everyone to join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

