Chef Groupie

Okay, my sister calls me a chef groupie because when I know we might meet a super Chef I get really excited.  My favorite chef to have met recently was Spike Mendelsohn from Top Chef, owner of Good Stuff (a fabulous burger place and he’ll soon have a Pizza Shop called We the Pizza).

Okay, wait, while I’m on that subject, my god that burger was delicious.  It was a little bit of a wait but well worth it.  The burger was juicy and had the right amount of seasoning.  There are a variety of shakes, some of them specialty shakes.  Like the Toasted Marshmallow shake I had while I was there.  It was a little bit too sweet so I did drink some water after every sip but it made a really good dessert.  I think my friend, Matt, had a different shake on another night and I had a rootbeer float, both of which were (as I was told) pretty yummy.  The prices are pretty reasonable.  I think for some of my guy friends with “guy appetites” they need more than one burger so if there was a size option I think they’d appreciate it.  Also these burgers aren’t just hamburger, lettuce, ketchup/mustard and pickles.  It has special sauces, bacon, cheese( What I had: Good Stuff Melt- melted cheddar & muenster caramelized onions & mushrooms with good stuff sauce).  What blew Matt away was the Big Stuff Bacon Meltdown (there is bacon in it, like really there was little they could have done to mess that one up for him).  There are also two different burgers dedicated to our President and first lady; the Prez Obama Burger (apple wood bacon, caramalized onions, Roquefort cheese, and a horseradish mayonaise) and the Michelle Melt Free Range Turkey Burger (caramelized onions, swiss cheese, ruby tomato, lettuce on a freshly baked wheat bun with southlawn herb garden mayo).  It’s too bad I’m picky or I’d definitely be trying everything on the menu.

On Top Chef Spike wasn’t exactly well liked and I can definitely see why.  He isn’t exactly quiet about his opinion and he does think that he’s right about everything even when he’s being another chef’s sous chef (like say, Hubert Keller in Top Chef Masters).  But what can I say, he’s an extremely talented and attractive chef.  You can ask my friend, Matt, who took this picture for me, I thought I was going to faint when I met him.  I was squealing and giggling and I doubt I made much sense.  The first words out of my mouth was “Hi, can I take a picture with you?”  No introductions.  No pleasantries.  Just out with it.  But hey, he looked like he was a busy guy.  Top Chef proved that he was a talented chef, he lasted quite a long time and aced many of his challenges.  Cosmopolitan recently interviewed him about food and relationships.  The basic gist of it is that men don’t like when women just pick at their food, but they don’t want them [the women] to be more into their food than their date.  Also his favorite post sex snack is juicy fruit.  If you want to see the entire article I suggest getting the August Cosmo because it was very entertaining.  So I need to work on my deliverance when meeting chefs I love.  I can’t help it, I get so excited.  Plus I can’t stress enough, he is a cutie.

About akindafoodblog

I'm a picky foodie in training. I can't stop talking about food, so writing about it seems like a normal transition. There are so many foods I don't like, and that's a bit of a problem. I don't really know how to cook but I love to bake. So I'm on a culinary journey and I want to invite everyone to join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

