I am beginning my Culinary Journey

I am not in culinary school.  I have no idea how I’d fair in culinary school.  Sometimes I still cringe when I get the egg white on my hand.  (It feels like mucous and it just slimes all over you)  I look for recipes and I either get it right or wrong.  I’m not trying to copy the Julie and Julia movie/book, but I’m doing this for myself.  Sometimes whatever I’m trying doesn’t work out at all.  I’ve made cookies that Sherman ate before kickboxing and he said it weighed him down like he ate a brick.  There are several non baking recipes that I think that I’m ready to try.  I specialize in baking because for the most part it tells me what needs to go into it, what temperature, how much, etc.  It’s cut and dry.  But real cooking means that I’m going to venture out and learn from mistakes.  I can’t be afraid of the meat burning or the rice cooking correctly (by stove, even I can cook rice with a rice cooker.).  I am scared of messing up the cookware, the fire alarm going off, and it just not tasting good.  What I believe is that even though a dish might look messy that doesn’t mean it tastes the way it looks.  I mean sure I’d rather it taste and look good but it’s not necessary.  But I want to step out of my comfort zone.  Maybe I even want to set a dish on fire and get it over with so that I know it won’t be the end of the world if it does happen.  However, I think the real revelation is that I’m ready to step out and make mistakes.  That is the first step on my Culinary Journey.

About akindafoodblog

I'm a picky foodie in training. I can't stop talking about food, so writing about it seems like a normal transition. There are so many foods I don't like, and that's a bit of a problem. I don't really know how to cook but I love to bake. So I'm on a culinary journey and I want to invite everyone to join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

