Smore Day

According to CNN, August 10th is National S’more Day.  Dammit, I love S’mores.  They’re incredibly gooey ooey, that old timey food that you make with your family when you go camping.  And even though they’re annoying the hell out of you, it’s okay because you’re family.  It’s okay because at the end of the day when you have that fluffy burnt marshmallow smashed between that sticky chocolate that melts all over your fingers between the two hard crunchy graham crackers.

It makes me sad that my cousins (ages 9,6,5) don’t like to make their own s’mores, they like eating them just not making them.  They expect others to make it for them.  But really, there’s no fun in that.  The fun is in trying to get the perfect tinge of brown on that perfectly white cylindrical marshmallow, even maybe catching a few on fire just to blow them out and pop it in your mouth.  You want to roast that marshmallow until it has a nice crunchy outside but the second you bite into it, it oozes sugar.  And my cousins are missing out on that.   I say if they want the s’more they have to make it themselves, because anything that’s made yourself tastes so much better.

About akindafoodblog

I'm a picky foodie in training. I can't stop talking about food, so writing about it seems like a normal transition. There are so many foods I don't like, and that's a bit of a problem. I don't really know how to cook but I love to bake. So I'm on a culinary journey and I want to invite everyone to join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

