Chicken Piccata

So while trying to expand my foodie horizons, I have also learned that I like doing this best when I’m with my friends.  However, when with my friends I have to take into account that we need restaurants that can sit 8 or 9 of us at a time and are somewhat cheap (face it, we’re college students).  We fould La Famiglia Giorgio in Boston which gave us more than we expected; great service, large portions, good food.  It remains as one of our favorite restaurants to date.  This is where I had my first real Chicken Piccata.

Before finding La Famiglia Giorgio, my favorite restaurant was Alfresco’s because of the service and the proximity to Kickass Cupcakes.  They gave us free Baklava on multiple occasions.  They have a great pan seared chicken, served in a lemon, butter, and wine sauce but unfortunately with artichokes and mushrooms (on the no-eat list).  I was hooked, every time I wanted to try something new, it was just not happening.  But after all my friends started dropping off the regular food eating people map (and became vegans and vegetarians of sorts-I fully support their decision, just isn’t the lifestyle for me) eating at our favorite restaurant became increasingly difficult.  So I had to fine a new place.

We first went to La Famiglia Giorgio for our friend, Matt’s, birthday.  We had to seat about 13 people.  I didn’t know what I wanted and everything was around 15-25$.  I didn’t want to spend that much and the Chicken Piccata sounded like that dish I had at Alfresco’s and I missed it so.  While I was sure that it would not be the same, why not because maybe it’d be similar.  It was better than similar.  It was delicious.  Delicious, as in I won’t order anything else from La Famiglia Giorgio, however appetizing everything else sounds.  I can’t stop eating it even if my stomach jumped out and screamed, “Please, no more.  I’m full.”  I’d keep eating.  They give you a choice of what type of noodles to get; angel hair, fettuccine, linguini, etc.  I usually get the liniguini noodles.  They are soaked in a lemon butter sauce and topped with several pieces of chicken and lemons.  There are capers scattered throughout the dish.  The pickle taste of the capers combined with the lemons give a certain acidity that is hard to explain.  It’s different types of sour and bitterness combining to make a savory dish.  Just the smell of it makes my mouth water and believe me, I know the smell of it.  I anticipate seeing our waiter walking towards us carrying an oval plate with my Chicken Piccata on it.  La Famiglia Giorgio gives you the choice of ordering homemade noodles, which I assure you I will be trying next time I go, but since there is a 3$ surcharge store-bought noodles are fine.  At the end of my meal I can barely hobble into my favorite bakery to get a dessert to eat later, much later, because the smell of food makes my overwhelmed stomach think I’m going to cram more food into it and it’s fearful for it’s stability.

What I have noticed while at this restaurant is that it is instantly quiet the second we get our food.  There might be a murmur of appreciation here or there but it’s so quiet,  what used to be that raucous group of college kids you didn’t want to be sitting next to became a group of adults appreciating their wonderful food in silence.  We know we found something good and I hate sharing this with everyone because I don’t want them to get more popular than they already are, because I like being able to go there (on a somewhat) moment’s notice (you ALWAYS should have a reservation).

About akindafoodblog

I'm a picky foodie in training. I can't stop talking about food, so writing about it seems like a normal transition. There are so many foods I don't like, and that's a bit of a problem. I don't really know how to cook but I love to bake. So I'm on a culinary journey and I want to invite everyone to join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

