I Want to Be a Foodie

I want to be a foodie, but I’m too picky to be a foodie.  There are so many foods I don’t like it’s difficult for me to try everything, anything, adventurous.

Things I don’t like: Tomatoes, mushrooms, avocado, seafood excluding maguro and shrimp, onions, asparagus, cantaloupe, honeydew, melon, crab, lobster, peppers-green, red, yellow, mayonaise, pork (ham, loin, etc.), brown rice, artichokes, eggs, green onions, chives, any type of liver or organ, nuts, zucchini, squash, cauliflower (white, purple, orange or green), baby corn, there’s more I promise.

I’m a texture person which might explain some of my preferences, like the avocado and mayonnaise.  I can blame the pork on having seen one slaughtered at a somewhat young age, I have just began eating bacon again but only if it’s fried to a crisp.  Like any child I didn’t like vegetables and they have continued to leave a bitter taste in my mouth.  Tomatoes are bitter and watery.  I can eat them in fully cooked forms like marinara sauce and such.  However, the watery and bitter is a texture and taste issue.

I’m not the pickiest eater I know, but by far I’m not the easiest person to cook for.  Being an extremely picky eater doesn’t measure up far in the foodie world.  It can even been seen as an eating disorder (Selective Eating disorder or Preservative Feeding Disorder) is usually far worse than I am.  They like plain, usually whiter foods.  They like about 10 foods or less and refuse to try newer foods.  Despite that I’m not that bad, I just find it difficult to be a foodie because of my discriminating tastes.

I feel like it would be a fun challenge to issue to Top Chef, Challenge or any other cooking show that I’m unaware of to cook me a dish, using foods I despise, and have me like it.

About akindafoodblog

I'm a picky foodie in training. I can't stop talking about food, so writing about it seems like a normal transition. There are so many foods I don't like, and that's a bit of a problem. I don't really know how to cook but I love to bake. So I'm on a culinary journey and I want to invite everyone to join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

