Sushi, Half Marathoning, Crockpotting, and More!

Last weekend was jammed packed. On Saturday we went to Sea to You Sushi Class that I bought on I bought a groupon for Sea to You Sushi. We signed up for the master class, which is a combination of the other 3 classes. The other classes are one hour long, master is 2. It normally costs $120 per person. We learned how to make inside out maki, Jumbo maki, temaki, nigiri, designer rolls and also how to cut fish. I found the entire experience really informative and helpful. But I really appreciated learning how to cut fish because you can’t just cut the fish in any old fashion. It’ll ruin the fish and make it more difficult or uneven to make your sushi. So something I learned in the last couple of years, (1) sushi is generally made to be eaten in one bite; (2) shoyu is not supposed to go on the rice; (3) simplicity is usually key; (4) nigiri can be hand food so you can get the fish to the shoyu without it falling apart; (5) temaki are the fastest way to make and eat your own sushi.

I ate a lot of my sadder looking pieces of maki. They have a big open salad bar type thing where you can get your sushi ingredients of choice. The have deep fried sweet potatoes, cucumber, carrots, broiled tuna, broiled salmon, shitake mushrooms, fried panko, and the unagi and spicy mayo sauce. You can upgrade some of your ingredients when you sign up online, like buying avocado, soft shell crab, and spicy scallops. We opted to upgrade to soft shell crab for $10. $10 is less than the average spider roll! No avocado though, but with me being and picky as I am I don’t like avocado.

So much Sushi! Spicy Tuna, broiled tuna, spider rolls!

So much Sushi! Spicy Tuna, broiled tuna, spider rolls!

Dragon roll, california temaki, and a salmon inside out roll

Dragon roll, california temaki, and a salmon inside out roll

The day after this I had my very first half marathon. I was using this as say, my carbo loading, I probably should have gone with something a little heavier. Now a half marathon doesn’t have much to do with food. But I have to say having good training does involve eating better. Less fried food, better carbs, less sugar, etc. etc. I’ve said it before. When I finished, the one thing on my mind was, there better be food in the convention center. There was. But I had a banana, plain bagel without spread, orange, and water. We ended our half marathon day at Flour, which I’d say a lot of half marathoners did the same.

Then later this week I’ve been playing with my crockpot. It’s hot out and I don’t want to be using my oven a whole lot (not to mention it doesn’t work still). I did a chipotle chicken in a creamy sauce. I didn’t quite figure out what you do with it. Do you serve it with pasta? No not really. Mashed potatoes? Yeah that was pretty good. Here’s what you do. It has a little bit too much sauce, but if you can fish the chicken out put it in a wrap. Lettuce, hummus, garlic and herb cheese with the chipotle chicken is so very good. It has so many flavors going on at once and just blends so well. When I did the chipotle chicken recipe I used chicken thighs which was and was not a mistake. I like using meat with bones in it because I feel like it gives it a stronger flavor. But for two reasons, not so good. The meat falls right off the bone and I lose some of the smaller bones (choking hazard). The bones give more flavor and a little bit more liquid into the creamy sauce. So now I have all this sauce and will figure out something to do with all of it. (I just poured it over my mashed potatoes and will eat it like that later).

And so recently I’ve wanted some local food. I looked up a recipe for a copycat Mitsuken Garlic Chicken. I cut it a little differently since I don’t have a deep fryer and just pan fried it. Cutting it into smaller chunks makes it cook faster and more thoroughly. Drizzle the sauce on top and it’s pretty much like being at home. I did not add the green onions and ginger like the recipe says because well, because I don’t have those ingredients on hand. I don’t do the super market on Sundays because it is an absolute mess. I overfried a couple of the pieces because they weren’t browning up like I thought they should have been. But it was still good. Just a little more practice next time!

Faux Mitsuken Chicken and musubi

Faux Mitsuken Chicken and musubi

Chipotle Chicken in a Crockpot

Ingredients

  • 4 Skinless Chicken Breast
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 (10.75 oz) can cream of chicken soup
  • 1/2 c. chicken broth
  • 1 (8 oz) reduced fat cream cheese, cubed
  • 3 chipotle peppers
  • 1 Tbsp adobo sauce

Directions

  1. Place the chicken breasts into a slow cooker, sprinkle with salt, pepper, and minced garlic.
  2. Pour in the cream of chicken soup and chicken broth, and add the cream cheese, peppers, and adobo sauce.
  3. Stir the mixture gently. Cover, set the cooker to Low, and cook for 6 hours.

Mitsuken garlic Chicken

Ingredients

  • 3 lb chicken, cut into pieces
  • 2 1.5 c. flour
  • 2 tbsp garlic salt
  • Pepper to taste
  • 1/4 tsp garlic powder
  • Oil for frying
    Sauce
  • 1 c. shoyu
  • 1 c. sugar
  • .5 c.  water
  • 1/4 tsp grated ginger
  • 1 3 small clove(s) garlic
  • 1/4 c. green onions

Directions

  1. Rinse chicken and pat dry; set aside.
  2. Combine flour, garlic salt, pepper and garlic powder in gallon-size plastic bag; shake to mix well.
  3. Place chicken in the plastic bag, shake to coat with flour mixture. Refrigerate 30-45 minutes.
  4. Combine all ingredients for Garlic-Soy Sauce in sauce pan, bring to a boil; mix until well blended.
  5. Deep fry chicken in heated oil until chicken is golden. Drain on paper towels then dip in garlic-soy sauce to serve.

 

About akindafoodblog

I'm a picky foodie in training. I can't stop talking about food, so writing about it seems like a normal transition. There are so many foods I don't like, and that's a bit of a problem. I don't really know how to cook but I love to bake. So I'm on a culinary journey and I want to invite everyone to join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment